Maple Foliage Season

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6b)

Unfolding maple foliage is an uncommon treat. Here are a couple of early risers. First, Acer pseudosieboldianum.

Scott

Thumbnail by Decumbent
Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6b)

This is not a flower. These are new leaves, but do not adjust your set. Acer palmatum "Shindishojo" has intensely red, borderline pink, new foliage. Here they are just emerging from buds.

Scott

Thumbnail by Decumbent
Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

Wow.

Are you sure that's not Acer palmatum 'Maybelline'?

Lombard, IL(Zone 5b)

Does psuedosieboldianum usually leaf out this early for you, at least compared other japanese maples? I thought some of its additional hardiness might be attributed to leafing out later, but I guess I hypothesized incorrectly. I only have two little psuedos and this was their first winter so I have no real experience with this tree. My two still haven't begun to swell, unlike some of my other japanese maples mostly the japonicums and ones shipped in from warmer lands.

Willis

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6b)

Hi Willis,

Only my second year with Acer psuedosieboldianun, so I'm learning also. The straight species is leafing out like there's no tomorrow, but A. pseudosieboldianum takesimense is still tight in bud.

Scott

Ann Arbor, MI(Zone 5b)

Ah Scott, the true woody lovers love to watch unfolding buds and foliage. And maples, especially some of those asiatic ones, are high on the list of spring bud and leaf spectacles. I am still surprized how much farther along you are than we are. Very few woody plants here are showing any leaf color at all. Buds are just breaking on the corylopsis species. I would love to see more of these as they unfold for you. Thanks. D.

Minneapolis, MN(Zone 5a)

Beautiful shots, Scott.