cold-stratified sugar maple seeds

Newmarket, NH

Hi there!

I am a graduate student doing work with sugar maples and unfortunately just found out that I have the funding to start a project. I'm looking for sugar maple seeds that have already been cold-stratified and are ready to go. I've tried calling nurseries, both commercial and state-run, as well as research centers working with sugar maples and have had no luck. I need approx. 50 seeds to be sure that I can get enough seedlings in the next ~2 months. I'm completely willing to crawl around under trees looking for seeds on the ground, but don't have the experience needed to identify seeds that have been on the ground since fall.

Does anyone know of a source? or have any other suggestions??

Thank you!

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

How about Maple Syrup makers??

Cottage Grove, OR(Zone 8a)

lawyer nursery sells seed by the pound, maple seed was pretty reasonable, but they have a 250$ minimum on nursery stock , Im not sure if that applies to seed as well, but you can try. hope this helps . www.lawyernursery.com

Newmarket, NH

thanks cgarvin. I've actually already called Lawyer Nursery and several other large seed suppliers (F.W. Schumacher), but their seeds haven't been cold stratified yet. I don't have the time to stick seeds in moist, cold conditions for >1 month which is what they require for germination so I'm looking for the highly perishable seeds that have already begun germination.

I've actually tried a few maple syrup places victorgardener (good suggestion otherwise!), but most either have stored seeds or already have the trees they want! Though this is probably where I'll turn again when I'm looking for a stand to crawl under hoping that all I pick up are sugar maple seeds!

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

I posted a link on the Trees & Shrubs forum. Someone there should be able to help. Good luck!

Keene, NH(Zone 5a)