new at irises.

San Diego, CA(Zone 10b)

So this is my first year planting irises. Mine came up a little and have not done anything else sincce. I wonder if I planted worng

Readyville, TN(Zone 7a)

What kind of irises did you plant? I grow the bearded ones. If you have those, the tops of the rhizomes need to be exposed. Schreiner's website has some really good planting instructions (with photos):

http://www.schreinersgardens.com/iris_culture.shtml

Hulbert, OK(Zone 7a)

Hi Steph,

First, welcome to the Iris world. As someone
mentioned last night, you'll quickly find yourself
planting more and more of them. The Iris Virus.

I'm certainly no expert, but I agree with Cathy, you may
have unknowingly planted them too deep for your area.
Are the rhizomes showing at all?

Are the plants large or small?

:-) KM

San Diego, CA(Zone 10b)

Irisis and roses, my goodness. I wish I didnt have any lawn I would plant so so so many.

Blythe, CA(Zone 10b)

Wuvie: I like that " The Iris Virus" ...now I know what I have, thanks for the diagnosis !

San Diego, CA(Zone 10b)

I scraped away the extra dirt around the base. I did plant them to deep. Why do you have to plant them so shallow?

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

Because bearded irises don't grow from bulbs which would typically be planted deeply. They grow from rhizomes which are actually modified stems and require shallow planting, leaving the tops of the rhizomes exposed to the sun or just barely below the soil surface.

It's really not a good idea to just scrape away the extra dirt from the tops of the rhizomes because now you have created a depression right on top of the rhizomes that may collect and hold water, thereby rotting your rhizomes. It would be better to lift the entire plant, then add some soil to the bottom of the hole to raise it, and replace the plant. That will bring the rhizomes up to the soil surface without causes any water-holding depression on top of the clump.

Laurie

Lebanon, OR