Help choosing perennials

Lenexa, KS(Zone 5b)

I am very new to the gardening scene. Needing some advice on colorful and fragrant flowers to plant. I love to look at them and sit on the porch smelling them when the wind blows. However, I have 3 kids to run after and not alot of time to tend to gardening work. I do make time about once a week so I guess that will suffice. I did some planting last year BUT ( and you cannot laugh at me) I cannot remember what I planted and whether they were annuals or perenials.

I live in Lenexa, Kansas........Zone 5B.

Any suggestions would be great. Also, I read a link in the beginners flowers forum that said seeds were available for newbies but cannot seem to get to it; says its for paying members only. Maybe I misunderstood.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge,

Sherry

This message was edited Mar 17, 2007 4:13 PM

Sherry~ BOUQUETS and a big welcome to DG! Alyssums-annual; sweet william-a short lived perennial which will bloom the second year from seed;4 o'clocks, tea time rose has a nice scent in early evening hrs. annual, but self sows too readily and needs to be deadheaded to cut down on the number of volunteers. Dame's rocket-perennial, hyssop- perennial, roses, some annuals : stock, petunias and nicotiana and there are many more. Just a tiny start pf the list... I have some seeds of the above if you would like to try some . I'm sure some others will jump in, also check out cottage gardening and container gardening for some additional ideas with beautiful photos and suggestions. ;0)

Columbia, MO(Zone 5b)