Want to relocate/evict Sedum Autumn Joy...

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

is it too late? I went out to clean the front flower bed since I'd been so slack last fall and seeing the rosettes there reminded me that I didn't like the plant that much and had wanted to get rid of it. I may not like it but I don't want to kill it either:LOL: I'm just wondering if it too late to dig it up once it's showing spring growth? I'll put up with it another season if need be but I've got new stuff coming and well, you know;)
If not now, then when is the best time to remove this Sedum?

Thanks all!
Donna

Pocahontas, TN(Zone 7b)

I'm glad you asked the question, I have the same situation.

Judy

West Pottsgrove, PA(Zone 6b)

I'm no expert, but those things are really tough... I've moved them around at different times of the year with no trouble. I think you could dig it up now and pot it up without hurting it.

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

I agree - they're tougher than we think and I've moved mine about nine months of the year without a problem.

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)

Oh good! I think I'll work on that tomorrow, get it potted up and give it to a friend. Thanks!

Garland, TX(Zone 8a)

Heck, in the heat of summer last year I just broke pieces off my friend's clump and stuck them in my soil unceremoniously, and they thrived. She hate's them, I am going to raid her garden again this spring. They parts I stole from her looked better than my store bought stock!

Keene, NH(Zone 5a)

this is basically a great time to divide them and move them !! its true, they are quite indestructible... your friend can easily make several plants from your one plant by just breaking it into several pieces.

Everything I ripped out of this garden went to a neighbor. Look at the sedum! I think the one plant ended up being split into nine plants - they all grew just fine. This was in September of '05.

Thumbnail by pirl
Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)