mid atlantic area?

central, NJ(Zone 6b)

Hi, I'm new to DG. What area is considered mid-atlantic? Is a jersey girl welcome here???

Crofton, MD(Zone 7a)

NJ is definitely part of the mid-Atlantic region. Welcome to DG Flowerjen!

Sequim, WA(Zone 8a)

Hi there Jersey-girl - I have a feeling that even if you were from the upper mid-west you'd be welcome here! :-)

Dover, PA(Zone 6b)

Ihad the same issue when I first started being from Pa I was trying to see if I belonged to Mid-Atlantic or Northeast. There are several others from N.J. here and some from a lot farther North in Pa. than I am. I think I have more in common gardening wise with the Mid-Atlantic area than the Northeast area. Just watch those Virginians their Zone is much warmer than ours. Not to mention that we are a great bunch of people. Holly

Sterling, VA(Zone 6b)

Of course everybody is welcome!

What do others consider the Mid-Atlantic area? I guess my view is that the "core" area would be the stretch from New York City down to Washington DC and the area inland about 50 miles or so. Do others consider the Mid-Atlantic reaching further north...to say Boston? Richmond and Virginia Beach seem a bit warmer than what I think of as Mid-Atlantic.

- Brent

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

Welcome! I think NJ is mid atlantic for sure. I bet your soil and climate is very much like Southern MD and Eastern Shore.

Please submit pet photo for final approval to join- LOL

Any of the regional forums would have to include more than one zone and soil type.

Richmond, VA

All gardeners are welcome here.Actually, I think originally speaking, the area called the midatlantic was va md nc.The term mid atlantic is more of a nautical term.It differentiated the area of ocean between the south and north atlantic.Statistically speaking ,storm wise, it was rather calm compared to its neighbors.Ironically its the graveyard of the atlantic.Both off shore currents meet here,causing shifting sand bars
and treacherous currents.