Baby greens in container help?

Farmingdale, NY(Zone 7a)

Hi! I'm brand new to growing most things and I have just planted a mesclun mix that I bought in a nursery flat as an experiment. I am accustomed to growing wheatgrass and you really load up on seeds for that. Well, wheat seeds are much bigger than greens seeds and I think I put down way too many seeds. Can anyone tell me what is the normal amount of seeds or spacing that should be used for baby greens like you get in the grocery store..ala the baby spinach leaves size? I've just read 1/2 an inch spacing per plant and I believe I've put down about 800 seeds in my little tray so it might be micro greens for me this time??? LOL. Additionally, I want to grow the greens in litter box containers as I have 4 of them that haven't been used. Is the depth of a litter box ok for baby or full grown lettuce/spinach/mesclun or do I need a deeper container. Keeping them watered is no problem.

Thanks for any help as I am a doofus. : -)

edit to add litter box depth is 4.5 inches.

This message was edited Feb 25, 2007 4:33 PM

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

I would think its deep enough. As the seeds sprout you can thin out the baby plants. If you leave them all, they would be really spindly I think.
Disclaimer- I have never done this

Farmingdale, NY(Zone 7a)

Thanks sallyg!

They are all sprouting already. It's so cool to watch them pop up!

Northeast, WA(Zone 5a)