Any advice for Stockbridge veg garden?

Stockbridge, GA(Zone 7b)

Hello ga gardeners!

I am new to dg and very new at gardening! This is my 2nd attempt at gardening. Last year was a disaster. (I think I got a dozen roma tomatoes and 4 hot peppers altogether!!)

My garden is a backyard, 6X18ft section. It has wonderful sun.
I just started "prepping" one 4X6ft section. Last Friday, I weeded the whole garden and today, I just finished (I think) breaking up the one section and I added and mixed about 2 inches of compost into the soil.

My question is this--1) The soil still doesn't seem "fine" enough. Does the texture matter? And if so,
how do I fix it?
2) How do you know what to plant first....and where? ( My plan was to start section by section of the garden based on what is on the back of the seed pkgs but they just confused me!)
3) Is there a guide to when you should plant and where or is that really
gardener's preference.
4) If I sound like I have no idea what I'm doing, it is really WORSE than it
sounds!!! Can someone help before I make another mess!

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

You may get more precise answers at http://gardens.com/forums/f/b_veggies/all/ which is a beginners vegetable forum.
1. Fine is relative. along as you don't have lots of 1-2 inch clods you will be fine. If you get it too fine and it has any clay, a hard rain will "baked" it (turn it into a massive adobe brick)
2. 100 square feet is a small space so be selective, choose those plants that you really want to grow/eat. There is a series of plants that go in as soon as the ground can be worked. Those include potatoes, English peas, snow peas, snap peas, onions (plants or sets) beets, carrots etc. Those can go in now. By the first of March, you can transplanting brassicas like cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower. Just about everything else can be planted in April on or after your average last frost date. Many of these plants take a lot space for the yield so again be selective.