Alcea Rosea

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

Hi all, i am very new to DG (only 24hrs) and new to US (original frm Netherlands) and hve question already. Does any one know how Alcea Rosea (or stockrose) does in Atlanta?
Any advise?

Powder Springs, GA(Zone 7b)

Welcome to the US, GA, and DG TulipLady! Alcea (most people here probably call them hollyhocks) do fine here but they aren't as long lived as they would be further north (in my opinion - they seem to be very long lived in KY for example). They tend to attract spider mites and can get rust but that should not stop you from growing them. I have grown them in the past and plan on growing some this year (just picked up some seed for doubles, singles, and nigra recently). I'm just waiting until spring to sow them in the garden.

Lakemont, GA(Zone 8a)

Tuliplady,
Welcome to Georgia, and Daves, Tulip lady!

Most hollyhocks (alcea) are biennial for me and some are perennial- returning from the roots. In fact, my Nigra black hollyhock is evergreen. As long as I dont water the foliage and/or water late at night, I dont have much of a rust problem.

BTW, you might want to recheck your zone. I'm pretty sure you're not a 5. You're probably 7a or 7b. I am about 60 mi NE of Hotlanta and I'm zone 7b.

If there is any way any of us can help you PLEASE let us know!

Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)