OK now what do I do?

Pylesville, MD(Zone 6b)

I have never gotten this far with an amarylis. They usually do nothing, put up a weak black of a leaf and die, or they rot.
What do I do with it now?
Thanks
:)
A

Thumbnail by avmoran
Gent, Belgium(Zone 8a)

I'm not an expert on Amarylis, but on the hand of your descriptions of past failures, it sounds as if you tend to over water your bulbs.
It is very important for any kind of bulb plant that it is very well drained,
humid, but certainly not soaked because that can cause rot.

DFW area, TX(Zone 7b)

Oooh, la la. That's a beauty for sure.

Nantucket, MA(Zone 7a)

avmoran
Enjoy And congratulations! It will put up strappy leaves after the blooms finish and it is important to continue to let those grow until they turn yellow (like daffodils) and then let it rest without regular watering. I put the pots out in the summer in a partly shaded area until the fall when I bring them in and start to water them again. This is my regiment, but I think some others my have more complete directions. Patti

(Zone 1)

You enjoy that Beautiful Bloom! And, then transplant to your garden .... or, do these grow outside up North?

Bessemer City, NC(Zone 7b)

You don't say anything about how this beauty is potted.

Just guessing here a bit. Ignore if you've already applied the following---

If this bulb is a pre-planted one, remove the medium (most likely pure peat or coir) from the roots. Are they growing? Are they still dormant? Take note of them. Remove any dead, dried, or bad-looking roots.

Replant the bulb in a good quality potting mix in a terra cotta pot, 8" should do for a large bulb. I usually put crocks in the bottom of the pots to help keep soil in and promote good drainage.

Water in lightly. As has been said, don't keep it soggy wet and don't water too often or too solidly at first.