Can I use for carnivorous plants?

San Diego, CA

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to carnivorous plants although had a few when I was a child. (Didn't we all?? LOL)
Oh, and during college at the Univ. of Michigan I took a gardening class and we had a field trip to some of Michigan's bogs where pitcher plants and other assorted fellows grew freely. I always loved them though and think I may have a chance to start my own finally.

I am reading conflicting things about whether a covered terrarium is good for carnivorous plants or not. I recently acquired this interesting square glass terrarium and wanted to use it to start a little garden of carnivors. Will this work? Any links to get me started for how to begin?

Finally, anyone have any to trade? I don't have carnivorous but quite a few other exotic plant seeds or cutting...

Let me know and happy gardening!
Shannon

Thumbnail by shannon71
San Diego, CA

Here's a view from the top! It's super thick glass by the way.

Thumbnail by shannon71

You wouldn't be able to grow the ones you saw growing in bogs in Michigan for any length of time in your terrarium but there are many other species you could certainly try to grow in there. I don't mean to sound all weird or anything but I've had my share of injuries over the years and just wanted to know if you could put tape around the whole edge to that hole in the top or something for when you get ready to work in there. I am thinking about my own klutzy self and visualizing a sliced and diced hand getting in and out of that hole while planting the terrarium. I get these thoughts of playing the game "Operation" only no buzzer is going to sound if the edge is hit with your wrist.