New to Forum From Northeast Ohio

Hudson, OH(Zone 5b)

Hi folks,
I'm a novice gardener. Perhaps like some of you, to fund my garden and a place to stay warm in the winter I ,unfortunately, must work outside of my garden more than on my garden. So I'm attracted to high performing, low maintenance and easy to grow plants. I look forward to learning from all of you!

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Welcome Kathleen!

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Hi Kathleen - welcome to Dave's

Your gardening plan sounds common sense to me, although for me having low maintenance plants frees time up for some high maintenance ones.

Al

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

purple cone flower, daisies and black-eyed susans are about the lowest maintenance highest yield plants for me.

Welcome Kathleen!
Dave47

Lower Hudson Valley, NY(Zone 6b)

Hi Kathleen,

I would add sedum, hostas and hardy geranium to that as well. Daylilies too if you don't have a big deer problem.

Victor

Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

Hi, Kathleen. Welcome to gardening, and Dave's Garden, and the northeast forum! You can learn a lot here. and make some good friends. Many of us work to support our plant habits LOL.

gram ~a girl~

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Welcome to Dave's and to the Northeast Forum, Kathleen. Glad to have you with us. I'd vote for Japanese iris for wet and sunny spots, Heuchera for almost anywhere but constant hot sun and Hinoki cypress for a lovely and well behaved shrub.

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

Hi Kathleen,

Welcome! I just joined DG at the beginning of January. Everyone at this forum has been very supportive of this rookie. I am sure you will like it here :-)

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)

I like my thymes for easy care in the sun and creeping jenny for the shade. And if you want a plant that is big and splashy, smells good and gives you spice (fennel seed) - plant bronze fennel and it will take over the yard and fill every nook and cranny. (See my post on the evil plant thread.) LOL

Jersey Shore, NJ(Zone 7a)