Amaryllis Seed Pods...

Bartlesville, OK(Zone 6a)

I have so many pregnant amaryllis you can tell what I have been doing for the past month. LOL

I have never done this before, when they finished, I just cut the stalks. OK now for the question....

what on earth am I going to do with what looks like to be thousands of seeds. I have no room for that kind of planting and after going to all this trouble, I don't want to throw them away.

Anybody on here interested in any of them? And when do you know they are ripe? They are so cool looking. and getting fatter everyday...

This first picture is Lemon-Lime x Lemon-Lime, I will post some pictures of the other pods also.

Susan
=^..^=

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

Here is ruby meyer x La Paz

what are the drips of sticky stuff? is that normal?

Susan
=^..^=

Thumbnail by 9kittymom
Southeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Thanks for asking. I have the same thing on my Red Lion. Someone told me I didn't have to cut the stalk back, so I didn't because I'm lazy and wanted to see how weird it would look before cutting it off. What a surprise!

Anyone out there that can help kittymom and me? I also wondered if it took energy from the bulb. In other words, is it a bad thing to let it do this?

Welcome to the amaryllis birthing center! Put your feet in the stirrups, take a deep breath and PUSH! LOL!!!

Ok.
First of all, don't cut off those stalks! Leave them on until the pods turn yellow and split open. They will be at their peak of ripeness.
Now, you have thousands of seeds. Select ten super healthy seeds from each cross and stick each variety in an envelope labeled with the cross.
Give the rest away...whatever.