Anyone growing iris from seeds?

Blythe, CA(Zone 10b)

IDoes anyone know how to do this, or anything about it? I'm not very good with seeds and usually end of killing them, but thought I might give this a try. Has anyone else tried it before ?

Oro Valley, AZ(Zone 9a)

Hi betterbloom,

I have been growing Tall Bearded irises from seeds for almost 10 years now, and am trying my hand at growing Louisianas from seed too,,,,,, so maybe I can help.

This is the instructions I use for growing irises from seed (and I'm assuming it's good for all iris seeds). If I'm wrong someone correct me.

GROWING IRIS FROM SEEDS

Most people will plant the seeds during the fall/winter/early spring months.

Soak the seeds (using a pudding bowl or similar) for 24 hours up to 2 weeks. Change the water out daily using a strainer to catch the seeds. No nicking is necessary. Soaking will cause these shriveled up seeds to plum up as well as remove the inhibiting factors within the seed.

Plant them into window box planter boxes, or one gallon containers using a mixture of potting soil and Jiffy *seed* soil mix. (Or any other brand of seed soil mix/ seedling germinating mix) Apply more of the* seed soil mix* at the top of the pot.. Plant the seeds about a half inch deep. In a regular one gallon container plant no more than 20-25 seeds.

Some people will sow the seeds directly into the ground in the fall/winter, and let the natural cold of winter and nature itself wash the inhibitor factors out of the seed. And that will work too. Because some varieties of seeds will need several weeks of cooler weather outdoors to germinate, it is not advisable to plant them late spring/early summer or summer months.