comebychance, NL(Zone 5b)

hi,last year is the first time i grown Dahlias from seed now im hooked .I was wondering doze antone know were you can get seed for dahlias.

Boxford, MA(Zone 6a)

Ebay all the way! There's quite a lot available. My experiences with ebay plant/seed sellers have been all good with only one exception. Since it's seed, your investment is minimal. Also, enter "dahia seed" in Google and see what you get.

I was reading that certain dahila cultivars are excellent "parents" and set viable seed much better than others. I'm sure all of this info is on the Dahlia Society pages: www.dahlia.org. You could cross out your own seed!

Beware that you don't wind up buying dahlia-flowered zinnias! (Unless you want zinnias). I was just looking at the fresh seed displays (drool, drool) at the grocery store, and the picture on the front are flowers that are dead-ringers for mixed dahlias.

(I'm no expert; just a tireless researcher!!!)

This message was edited Jan 17, 2007 7:30 PM

This message was edited Jan 17, 2007 7:31 PM

Halifax Seeds has a couple of nice choices in Dahlia seeds. You might find some other things you like there too, and make it worth while.

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

T & M has the largest selection I think.
http://seeds.thompson-morgan.com/us/en/search?search=dahlia

True.

Boxford, MA(Zone 6a)

Holy cow, Al! I didn't need to see that. If I start with dahlia SEEDS, I'll never see civilization again. I need a 12-step plant intervention at this point.

Did I tell everyone that I have winter-sewn 200 daylilies??? I also have 2 rows of hosta seeds planted, and about a dozen or so root divisions in nursey pots, also out in the elements (but protected). Indoors, I have clivia seeds sewn, and my plumeria seedlings are coming along. Add this to my indoor tuber collection and the fact that I have 100 more pots to sew with salvia, verbena, and rose campion, and I'm kinda over-extended and obsessed! (Does anyone want to hear about my house plants?)