Amaryllis 'San Remo'

Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

I ordered 'San Remo' and 'Charisma' and got two 'San Remo' and no 'Charisma.' But they're both lovely right now. I also have 'Royal Velvet' in bloom and I'm trying my hand at cross-pollinating the two. I've never done this before, so we'll see what happens! I've nothing to lose by trying!

Thumbnail by kbaumle
Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

Another view. The stalk on one of them is VERY tall. 28 inches from the top of the bulb to the beginning of the flower buds! At that heighth, it makes a great floor plant!

Thumbnail by kbaumle
Mobile, AL

Oh! That is so, so, so BEAUTIFUL!

I just had a thought! Wouldn't it be awful if my Charisma turned out to be Charisma and my San Remos turns out to be Charisma?

LAS! I suppose I'll take what I get, but that was is LOVELY!

Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

Well, we could trade! LOL!!

Mobile, AL

True!!!!! And I would!!!

Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

Well, if that happens, then you've got a deal! :-)

Bessemer City, NC(Zone 7b)

That's pretty!!!

I love those "dots". Reminds me of an oriental lily. And in the thumb, the stripey look reminds me of Clematis 'Nelly Moser'.

I think that's definitely a keeper!

R.

Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

It's pretty, but the curl on the edges kind of bugs me. Both bulbs are doing that, so it must be a trait of them.

I didn't notice it so much. Guess I was thinking it would unfurl as the blossom matured.

I don't like that trait in Nymph, for example. The bloom looks to me like it never fully opens... or is already wilting or something.........like something is wrong. I know lots of folks like blooms like that...I'm trying to.....

R.

Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

Exactly, R.

Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

More pictures, taken today.

Thumbnail by kbaumle
Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

The other one, in the utility room a.k.a. 'The Jungle.'

Thumbnail by kbaumle
Northwest, OH(Zone 5b)

Detail

Thumbnail by kbaumle
Cramlington, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)