Raised Bed Gardening for Veggies and Herbs

Farmington, MI(Zone 5b)

I'm new to the forum and new to Raised Bed Gardening. We are in Zone 5b (MI) and have severly clay and sandy soil around our home. Thus, I'm interested in building a modest sized raised bed (4x8') to grow basic veggies (tomatoes etc) and herbs, adding some annuals/perennials for aesthetics. Can anyone provide insight into the benefits of building/using a raised bed vs just a 'regular' garden?

Orange Park, FL

Mullet
I've been gardening in raised beds for 20+ years. Where I live there's no such thing as soil. It's all sand. My beds are either 4'x8' or 4'x16'. I've always used 2x6's of pressure treated lumber from Lowes or Home Depot. Three 8 foot long 2x6's gives you exactly the size bed you are looking for.
Obvious advantages, you can create whatever planting soil you want and keep it contained within the bed, while preventing grass and weeds from invading. And there's really not a whole lot of effort to just get it started. Just turn over the ground where you want to place your 'bed frame' & remove any grass or weeds that are growing in it. Add soil amendments as often as you like--create your own compost as it becomes available. I add more compost every year. Over time the soil in the bed really becomes an ideal growing medium. And the nutrients in the soil don't leach out very quickly. Start simple and let the bed mature over time.
My 2x6's are probably 10 years old now, so clearly they don't need to be replaced very often.

Sheffield, United Kingdom(Zone 7b)

Raised beds are also very easy to cover with crop cover to keep things warm or mesh to keep insects off the crops.

Greeley, CO(Zone 5a)