A Pic of My Amaryllis Vera

Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

Hi,,, I'm new to the 'amaryllis scene' so I don't know if I'm doing this right. I had no clue until a year ago that there were different kinds (i.e., colors) of amaryllis, so I bought one of those ones in a box. Box says it's an Amaryllis "Vera". My amaryllis are normally outside year round and I don't do anything special to them except enjoy the flowers once a year. Soooo, I was really surprised when this one actually bloomed indoors... I love it!

Thumbnail by LAKelley2
Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

Here's another view

Thumbnail by LAKelley2
Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

Maybe just one more... :-)

Thumbnail by LAKelley2
Cramlington, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

Beautiful photos! I bought 2 bulbs labeled as Vera at WM, so far the first one turned out to be Apple Blossom, so fingers crossed that the other is Vera. She's a beauty! The second has buds showing, II've kept it cooler but will take it into the office soon.

Yardley, PA

Just got into Amaryllis this year, too. Ended up with 19! I had no idea there were so many types and colors.
You just can't beat them for the winter. Vera is beautiful.

This is a Lady Jane which is a double. Mine are just starting to open now because I started them late. I have some paperwhites behind them. Boy, do they smell. Nice to have some flowers this time of year. I can't plant them outside which would be so much easier.

Thumbnail by Sally0
Titusville, FL(Zone 9b)

Thanks Kniphofia and SallyD!! Love the pic of your double, Sally!! Kniphofia - Does Vera kind of look like apple blossom?? I have an apple blossom that I got last year but I planted it directly outside and it didn't bloom.... maybe this year. I also got one that looks like an apple blossom from a neighbor and the bloom is HUGE. Even though he had a bunch, he wouldn't give it to me until after it finished blooming so we'll have to see if it blooms this year :-)