Roses not going dormant....and now even antique rose has BS

Burlington, NC

I am new to gerdening in this area (I've gardened in Boston, very different) and new to roses. I have 9. Most are pumping out new leaves and showing no sign of going dormant. I read the blog of an NC (Raleigh area) gardener who says he picked off the remaining leaves and gave a dormant lime sulfur treatment (beginning of Jan). Is picking off the leaves that are left the right thing to do now? Or should I leave them on the plant and spray for the BS (neem, cornell mix?) with the leaves still on even now. Maybe the 2 nights of freezes coming (Tues/Wed) will finally shut the roses down.....Or....?

The roses in question are: a tree standard iceberg, an abraham darby, 2 caldwell pinks, 2 subzero miniature roses (already pruned heavily by some hungry rabbits!), a David Austin HT that was supposed to be a Pat Austin, but is something else (bought bareroot - has too many petals to be a Pat Austin), wild blue yonder (a grandiflora that has gone dormant unlike the rest) and (of course) a Madame Alfred Carriere (antique climber).

I wouldn't be as concerned about the dormancy if it weren't for the BS...I appreciate any advice....

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

Some of my roses are putting on new growth. I'm in zone 8 so I pretty much leave them alone. I would think taking off the leaves would not be a good idea because it would leave an open wound making it much more susceptible to freeze damage. For the most part, I have found roses to be very frost hardy and bounce back from whatever you throw at them with grace. I lived in Virginia and my roses had no problems there when they would put on new growth because of warm weather.