Introducing myself

Springfield, MA(Zone 6a)

Hi! I am Seandor. I am a rookie gardener. We live in this terrific Victorian home in a historical district in Springfield MA. Since we moved here five years ago, we have replaced all the lawn (with seed - can't afford turf) and have done some landscaping (with various degrees of success!). This fall I managed to convince my very understanding husband to tear up a large part of his lawn to put in a fragrance garden. I started entering the plants in my fragrance garden journal. Now I am afraid I have taken on too much! Then I read that Grandpa has ordered 50 roses! I thought I was extravagant ordering 8! Anyway, I will probably turn to you for advice and support.

On Jan. 27 I have invited friends and neighbours to my house to swap lies about our gardens, to pour over seed and plant catalouges (I ordered dozens for this get together) and to swap plants and seeds. My guess is that 4 or 5 people will show up. If any of you are in the vicinity, you are welcome to come. Just post me a line, and I will give the details.

Cheers,
Seandor. :-)

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

Hi Sean,
Welcome aboard, I live in the NE cyberworld. There's nothing wrong with being a rookie gardener, it's a lifelong learning process.
Your get together sounds fun, you might have better luck with a plant swap in spring though.
I work in lawncare and prefer seeded lawns over sodded so don't feel bad there.

best of luck with your new hobbie,

Al

Thumbnail by bigcityal
Wheatfield, NY(Zone 6a)

Hi, Seandor! Welcome to NE gardening. we are a friendly bunch and a little crazy ;0)