dried veggies?

Orange Park, FL

Does anyone grow, harvest, and dry their own crops in a food dehydrator? Is this the right forum in which to ask this question?

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Sure there folks here who do. I limit myself to beets, basil, melons, pepper as far as veggies go. But there are lots of others that can be dried. Have not tried it with a dehydrator, but should be able do some great Leather Breeches ( dried snap beans )

Everson, WA(Zone 8a)

Dried apples are great what a treat I do them two ways sliced very thin and dry till hard like a potatoe chip and thicker and softer for using later in sause or pies. Onions,peppers,tomatoes,herbs, all do well. I purchase bannanas and pineapples which are yummy snacks as well. Done correctly shelf life is a long long time. I am still learning and my suggestion to you is a book or maybe your county extension agent has some handouts. Not all fruits and or vegs are done the same way. Ernie

Renton, WA(Zone 8a)

I do apples, cherry tomatoes, bok choy, potatoes, red pepper, basil, etc... I want to do more this year.

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

And I'm here to tell ya!...Ernie's dried apples are to die for! (I recently rec'd some of them from him in the mail...delish!! And so versatile!)

I've dried tomatoes and figs in my dehydrator...love 'em!

Recently DG member MaVie sent me an "air dryer" (my words) for drying anything from veggies and fruit to meat/fish. It's an enclosed basket-type thingy with shelves...lay the goods on the shelves, zip it closed to keep out the bugs/flies etc, and dry in the sun/shade or over a wood stove.

blm...there are many dehydrators available, just make sure you get one big enough for your needs. (Right, Ernie!?)

Shoe.

Everson, WA(Zone 8a)

Shoe has part of it right when it comes to dryers bigger is better. The apples are delish but Maria helped me make them and sent them to him lol.

Jburish how did you do your spuds? Ernie

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

And yes, I stand corrected!