Need suggestions for attracting birds to my yard ....

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

I am brand new to bird watching. (And I only started gardening 2 years ago.) My New Year's Resolution is to learn more about my feathered friends and make my yard more inviting for them to come visit.

I am looking at all the great photos here on our NEW Bird Watching forum. I see all kinds of feeders and methods to feeding our flying friends.

I would love to hear about feeders or methods of feeding the birds that work for YOU.

I got a pressure perch feeder for Christmas that I haven't hung up yet. But I also see feeders on the ground and different hanging bird bricks in the photos posted here. In fact, I got a star shaped seed brick from my boss as a gift. But am clueless as to what is the best way to hang or mount feeders. And what else I can do to attract them. I do have 2 small above ground container ponds in my back yard too.

I would love to hear your suggestions! Thanks so very much!

Marlton, NJ

My first question is do you have many squirrels where you live?

I just recently bought a pole with a baffle that has worked well to keep the squirrels from eating all the food.

I also have a Squirrel Buster Plus feeder that all the birds enjoy and it holds a lot of food. Its weight restricted so the squirrels can't eat from it.

Be sure to get a good quality bird food. Mine have black oil sunflower seeds, safflower, peanuts and even some fruit pieces. I mix peanut halves into the food.

I'll send some photos later, I have to go out right now.

Melbourne, FL