Who wants to help out a Newbie?

Metro DC, MD(Zone 7a)

I'm relatively new to butterfly gardening and have been trying to follow your recent threads, but I'm tripping over some of the jargon. Is there a "classic thread" or FAQ that you can point me to so I can try to get up to speed? I looked around a bit, but didn't see one.

I have figured out that a cat is not that one that meows, but I still wouldn't recognize one if I saw it. Eclose? Apparently that's not a spelling mistake...

(Becky) in Sebastian, FL(Zone 10a)

LOL! Yes, it probably is quite confusing if you don't know the jargon and references we make here on this forum. We had a thread about just that for anyone new. Let's see if I can find that thread link. Nope, can't find it.

So I did a google and here is a great website with terminology plus life cycle photos. This should be very helpful to anyone new to butterfly gardening:
http://www.butterfly-guide.co.uk/help/gloss.htm

Metro DC, MD(Zone 7a)

Okay, cat = caterpillar. DUH. ("she's not that bright, but she sews all her own clothes and the gals all think she's neat...")

Thanks, Becky! I'll just sit back and read for a while and let the rest of you carry on...

wrightie - Don't be shy. Jump right on in here anytime. There are no dumb questions. Everyone was a newbie at one time. lol

I'm still relatively new myself. I've only been gardening and raising/releasing butterflies for 2 short years. I ALWAYS have questions. Some we are still trying to figure out. lol

Do you have or are you planning to grow a butterfly garden?

Metro DC, MD(Zone 7a)