grafting classes and a complaint about Mi M. Garden'r Prog.

Saint Clair Shores, MI(Zone 6b)

Are there any grafting classes offered within about an hour or so of Macomb County. I heard about such a class at Gee Farms, but I couldn't find out if it was just offered to the conifer society or if it was open to all (or if it just dealt with grafting conifers or was a general grafting class).

Also, in researching the Mi Master Gardener program, the closest local class to me will be offered Thursdays from Jan to March (sounds good so far) but the class is offered DURING THE DAY 9-3pm??!?? How is it that such programs, car dealerships and banks are only open and available during the hours when people who work to afford such things are working to afford such things?

As a mostly self-taught and self-motivated gardener, is such a program even really worthwhile? I am already a pretty accomplished gardener (if I do say so myself) pushing the zonal limit and able to identify most perennials and trees found locally by sight. I also have a very good understanding of the science behind plants and their structures and reproduction. What else would I get out of the program other than something to add to my list of accomplishments?

~Chills

Allen Park, MI(Zone 6a)

There's a MG class starting in Deroit in a couple of weeks. I don't know if you want to drive down there or not. It on Sat mornings.
If you want details dmail me.
Paul

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

Myself I dont think its worth the $$ or time. Im a self taught gardener and im not looking for a title or something on my resume-dont have time for a real job!
But for others they find it worthwhile-think of all the plants you can buy with that money you would pay for the class!

Good luck in your search!
dori

Lexington, MI(Zone 6a)