Thankful to have Found Daves for Georgia

Sautee Nacoochee, GA(Zone 7a)

Hi!
Im new to Daves (ok, I found it a while ago but hadnt had time to look about!) and Im looking fwd to seeing what my fellow Georgians and Carolinians have to say and suggest about gardening in our fair area.
Ive been battling to garden in my heavily wooded area for some years . I'll win a round against deer, clay,shade and tree roots some day, but until then Im not willing to give up!! ( I may be willing to whine and snivel, but NOT give up completely). I'm thinking its a good thing I adore mosses. :D
I'll be eager to see what ya'll plant and scheme to plant ;) In teh meanwhile if anyone has any ideas as to how to keep tree roots out of raised beds -I'll listen intently!

Thank you for allowing me wihtin earshot! (or eyesight?)

Ninnian (in Habersham Co.)

Byron, GA

Ninnian,
I share your problem with tree roots. Most of my plants are in large containers and I have to move the pots once or twice a year to keep the roots out. Tilling is difficult, also. The tiller just bounces around because of the large roots. I'm going to try planting some veggies in straw bales this year. The tree roots will not have time to get established in one season. There's a 4 part thread over on the Vegetable forum that has lots of info if you're interested.

I did try lining my compost bin floor with landscape material to slow the roots down. It works okay if I empty the bin at least once a year. I don't know about raised beds, however. You certainly don't want to redo those each year.

Digs

Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)