Amaryllis Cybister La Paz

Bartlesville, OK(Zone 6a)

Here is La Paz, I am having a really hard time getting a 'good' picture of it. Can't figure out whether to use the flash or not. It is really beautiful and I would like to be able to get a good picture of it.

Susan
=^..^=

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

One more in the dark....LOL

Susan
=^..^=

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

Beautiful, Susan. Remember to self pollinate!
Love those baby cybisters! :-)

OK, I'm a newbie here, self-polinate? that is where you use the pollen from the same flower on itself???

I have been looking at all these, there seems to be one stamen(?) that is different, just one though. The rest have pollen heads.

Am I looking at it correctly. You or someone said it was shaped like a Y. I think I have found that one. LOL

OK now, will the pollen 'fluff' up a bit more when it is ready. Right now those little pollen thingys look kind of flat. But on another flower Strypurr Lou I think, it looks like a fuzzy puffy thingy. Don't you love my technical talk?. LOL

Susan
=^..^=

Wichita, KS(Zone 6a)

If I may ask - why self pollinate?

That's it, Susan!
Sure, give it a little while to ripen. Generally, the pollen gets very loose and powdery when its ready.
Just dab it on the little "Y", write out a little string tag with cross info (if you decide to use other Amaryllis as a cross) and hang it on the flower stem.

You want to try a selfing to get more of the same type Amaryllis.
More than likely, you will.
But there are always pleasant surprises. :-)

more pics from today

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

well, obviously that wasn't from today...LOL

trying again

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

This is with the flash, too washed out

That's Asia Anne on the 'plant' stand. Not pleased with the picture taking...

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

back in the dark

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

from afar

(Will you STOP with the picture takin' already????)

Thumbnail by 9kittymom

last one for today

(OK, I am goin' back to sleep....)

Susan