Deer ate the hellebores down to nearly nothing

(Zone 3b)

Hi all. This is my first year of hellebores. I planted four of them in the shade garden in April of 2006. The deer ate them down to nubbins a few weeks ago. What can I expect in the spring?

This proves that the deer will eat anything when hungry. I was sure I read that hellebores are poisonous.

Thanks. I eagerly await your replies.

West Pottsgrove, PA(Zone 6b)

They are, but one creature's poison is another's salad, apparently. Helleborus does appear on many lists of deer-resistant plants. hhmmm...

Thornton, IL

muddbear - my hostas and sedum have been munched on, and it's my experience that unless the roots are very immature, the plant will recover and grow back in the spring. There's no guarantee the deer won't be waiting, fork in hand, bib tied under chin, to dine on them!

Athens, OH

In my four years of deer resistance studies, the deer have only munched the orientalis once and they haven't touched the foetidus. Eating hellebores is indeed rare.
BUT...there have been other poisoness plants that they have eaten...and probably died. A case in point is when a young buck munched half a plant of aconitum (monkshood). The toxic dose is estimated at a few leaves.

My suggestion is to spray the plant with Liquid Fence or Deer Off. This will train the deer that this plant tastes bad. I like to do this for every new plant in the garden. I spray a few times when they first go in (this is to deter the does in the Spring) and then the Fall a few times (this is deter the buck who come and invade for the first time in the Fall). It helps, but Rogue deer are difficult. They basically don't follow the rules.

Best of luck, ROX
With good root stock the hellebores will recover, but since they tend to have winter/early spring growth it is important to deter the deer now.

Thornton, IL