bad ugly choppy lawn

Guerneville, CA(Zone 9a)

Hi Everybody ~ I'm a newbie, name's Holly (Luvmoss) you people are the greatest! Now to the problemo...Preface: We did not create this situation, we bought it.
Level of ground in back @ pool very uneven, currently grass, spotty mostly shade...Who in the he++ would put a gorgeous pool on the edge of state forest surrounded by 200 year old oaks and pines? Well our cats are avid hunters so mole , vole, etc, are gone. Now to level the ground before I make lasagna: what to use for fill? Inexpensive would be cat litter but not sure I want clay. Over the top of the lasagna is going to b creeping Thyme.
Thanks in advance.
Holly

Centennial, CO(Zone 5b)

In my experience creeping thyme does beautifully in a "loamy rockgarden" situation. I have one that I planted last year, and another I just started. Both were more or less by "lasagna method, although the first I direct planted and the second will not be planted until spring.