Amber Waves...not so Amber !

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

I'm just getting into Heucheras and have planted 3 Amber Waves in what I think is a good spot...NE exposure...they are now turning more of a chartreuse color. The new foliage is amber, but it ages to the greenish yellow. Is this normal??? Too much sun??? Not enough ??? HELP !!!

Lexington, VA(Zone 6a)

JD, lots of variations in the hue of Amber Waves - could be "too much sun" - but I've found that you get a richer color on Amber Waves with a little more sun (early morning sun here ), not sure with CA conditions though. All of the Heucheras go through a transition heading into the winter - some good, some bad - I'd wait until spring and see what happens before making a decision to move them.

Debbie

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Thanks !!! I had all but given up on Heucheras entirely until I read up on them and made this great soil mix for them....this is the first time I've been able to get them to do anything, so I'll give them time like you say.

Huntington Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Mike,

I know you've told me that you've never had luck with these, so I hope they do well for you now. Could you please share your soil mix with us?

Thanks, Donna

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

My soil is sandy clay, so I added a ton of compost to it. It now holds moisture but does drain well...even after the last rain. I dug up some other ones that were failing and did the same thing...now they're responding. You have all that good compost, Donna....I'd use it for your Heucheras !!! I think the other "key" is MORNING SUN...not our hot afternoon sun, like
rcn said.....

Huntington Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Thanks Mike, I'll do that. :-))

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)

What varieties are you growing that will take quite a bit of sun? I have KEY LIME PIE and it does OK in partial sun.

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)