I have a (hopefully) not dumb question...

Bolivia, NC(Zone 8a)

I am newly a homeowner and a rank beginning gardener in Wilmington NC.
It will be a long task learning I am afraid as I have no experience at all.
What is the best way to get up / get rid of fallen magnolia leaves ?
Is one of those blower/vac/mulchers a possibility?
Those leaves are tough!
thanks for any feedback.....
Lauren

Grantsboro, NC(Zone 8b)

Leaf blowers are the best as a lawn mower doesn't seem to phase the leaves.

Blow torch might be even better,Can you tell I was at Moms last month and she had a fit till I got outside and blew away all the leaves. Her magnolia tree is huge. And the guy who does her yard had a brain Fart a few years ago and cut the lower limbs so you could walk under the tree. That just caused a bigger gathering of leaves. GRRRRRR

Lavina

Summerville, SC(Zone 8a)

That's the main reason I do not have a magnolia tree, but enjoy the one down the street. The owner rakes leaves every Sunday morning and puts them in a metal can and burns them. The whole process takes about an hour.

I must also say that I end up with a lot of those leaves in my yard when the wind blows in my direction. I agree, they are a pain!

X

Bolivia, NC(Zone 8a)

I am considering a lawn blower/vac/composter from Toro.....
It has a metal blade and I am hoping I can suck them up and fragmentize them.
I don't know that they are worth composting but it would help to get rid of them.
Does anyone have thoughts on whether this plan could/would work?
My agreement & sympathy LavinaMay and Xeramtheum-they are A PAIN :-)

This message was edited Nov 14, 2006 1:09 PM

This message was edited Nov 14, 2006 1:12 PM

Vienna, VA(Zone 7a)

Golly, this thread is a downer. I am the owner of a rescued magnolia. I dug it almost literally out from under the tread of huge piece of earth moving equipment, parked an inch from the trunk, last spring.