When to protect for winter?

Maine, United States(Zone 5b)

I should preface this by saying that I am very new to gardening...earlier this summer, my mom came up from the south to visit and we went to a local nursery together. She bought me a beautiful macrophylla type Hydrangea ("Merritt's Supreme"), which we planted. The plant did not have a tag that you would normally have, just a hand written label, so I just assumed that because the local nursery was selling it, it was for our zone. So, weeks later I come to realize that that type of hydrangea is rated for zone 6 and higher ...I probably should have just dug it up an returned it, but I got busy and never got around to it. I know the chances of it making it thru the winter and blooming are probably slim to none, but since it was a gift from my mom, I'd really like to attempt to do whatever I can to increase it's odds of survival. I was reading about putting up a chicken wire fence and filling that with leaves, which is my plan. My question is, WHEN, exactly, am I supposed to put up the winter protection? I keep going out and expecting the plant to tell me, but it still looks great and "alive"...just not sure when to do it...or if there is a more recommended method besides the chicken wire and leaves? Any advice would be much appreciated- thanks!

Indianapolis, IN(Zone 5b)

We've had our first hard frosts, the leaves are drooping and are starting to drop from the plant. As soon as more than half of them are off, I pack them with leaves (I don't need to do the chicken wire because I have much older, larger plants. The stems hold the leaves in and there are other plants on the sides of them that trap the leaves.)

HTH,
Suzy

(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

noreaster - your cage and leaves should work for you. Deer love hydrangea and will be thwarted by the cage.