Tiny greenhouse - lighting question

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

I spent a good deal of looking through this forum yesterday, but didn't find an answer to my question. I recently received a small greenhouse (a mini version of the one several people have from Big Lots), and am using it to keep my seedlings/cuttings in. When the nights here in the Dallas area go below 45, I bring the greenhouse into the living room (which gets west-facing sun) and zip it up to keep my cats away from the plants.

My question is -- do I also need to put a light on the plants? Right now I have a small lamp on the upper shelf with a SunGlo light (designed for reptiles) to give them a bit more rays. I leave the light on during the evening. But is this necessary? What should I absolutely be doing (or absolutely not doing) to keep my seedlings/cuttings happy during the winter? Besides keeping 5 inquisitive cats away from them.

I'm a newbie at this, please be gentle.

Carla

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

It's not totally clear from your message whether the greenhouse remains permanently inside the house once the temps get cold, or if you're only bringing it in at night and then taking it back outside during the day? If it's staying inside, you will need lights placed no more than a few inches above the seedlings, otherwise they will get very leggy. If you're keeping it outside during the day and it's in full sun, you may not need extra light, although seedlings do best when they get a significant number of hours of light each day and winter days are generally too short, so turning the light on in the evening for a while is a good idea. Although if the light source is too far from the plants it's not going to really help you.

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)