A new NC gardener here!

Boone, NC(Zone 6a)

Hey all! I'm new to gardening, having decided it to be a great pass time now that we have the space. (We just recently moved into a nice house on 2.25 acres. Before we lived on...well a LOT less. I don't know the exact number, but it was under a third of an acre and a pain to do anything with.) Anywho, I was thinking of starting my garden in the house with just one or two potted plants for the winter. Any suggestions for these plants? Keep in mind I'm very new to this, but very willing to learn. :)

Kate

Vegas,NV Filbert, SC(Zone 7b)

Kate, I have no information for you on the plants to start but just wanted to welcome you to the Carolina Gardening Forum.

Congrats on the new home.

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

And from me, too, and Hearty WELCOME TO DG!

Not sure what kind of house plant you are looking for but how about something like a scented geranium? They are very fragrant, offering you not only their fragrance but also some nice tame greenery!

Or maybe something like an herb box, in your kitchen window, with basil, oregano (Greek is most flavorful), with some onion chives and a small rosemary plant in it! Yay!

Again, welcome to the site! See you around!

Shoe.

(I was just up your way a couple weeks ago, camping on the Parkway. The Fall leaves were beautiful!)

New Bern, NC(Zone 8a)

Katerbug, Welcome! You have landed in the right place.

How about an Oxalis Triangularis? (Shamrock Plant). I have a lovely purple one. It gets charming little pink flowers on it, and at night it puts itself to bed (the leaves close up). I have passed it along to a number of neighbors, and they tell me it is a favorite.

I do bring it inside in the winter, and it goes on the deck in the summer. This summer I planted a clump in the garden, intending to see if it would make it outdoors through the winter. But the deer have pruned it to about an inch high, so I am not sure if it will come back.