How do you put your veggie garden to bed?

AuGres, MI(Zone 5b)

I would like your fall routines for putting your vegetable garden to bed. I'm new to vegetable gardening. So far I've pulled up the plants and have dumped lots of cut grass mixed with chopped up fall leaves.

Do you all recommend tilling it all under now or wait till spring? Do you plant fall cover crops? If so, when do you plant them and what do you plant?

Do you add any types of fall fertilizers to the soil?

Thanks for any suggestions for refurbishing the soil before next growing season.

Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

It would be best to till in your leaves and grass. Planting fall cover crops is a good idea if they will grow in your area in the winter. Those are great ideas, but I don't always get around to them myself. Still, I ought to!

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Agree. I like to mix all organic material into the soil in the fall. Spring and Summer I use it as mulch. Just finished sowing the Abruzzii rye in the fields. More as a green manure than a cover crop, but it serves both purposes well. Of course, the kitchen garden is still going with Brassicas, carrots and spinach. By the time they are finished, I turn them down and start the early spring planting.

Pembroke Pines, FL(Zone 10a)

Farmerdill --- I used to live on Long Island, NY and had lots of oak trees on my property and always had to add lime to my mix as the oak leaves created a low PH. However, my azaelas and rhodendrons just loved their area as I had a seperate mulch pile, w/o lime, just for them. I had the only blue azaela in my neighborhood but alas one fall I neglected to wrap it properly and a severe winter killed it. Lesson to be learned if in a frost area --- WRAP YOUR PLANTS FOR WINTER AND MULCH HEAVILY TO PROTECT THE ROOTS!

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)