Winter planning what's my Zone?

Federal Way, WA(Zone 8b)

Forgive me if I am asking a recurring question, but I don't know for certain how to identify our Zone. I thought we were 8b, but I see people living in Tacoma identifying their zones as 8a, or even 7. The USDA Zone Finder places us in 7, but the Western Garden book says it's 8b. We are fairly close to the water here -- can't see it, but can walk about a mile and get to it. What's the definitive source for the Dave's Garden forums? What do you use to determine your zone?

Since I'm pretty new to gardening (took it up this past summer), I want to do everything necessary to make sure my plants survive the winter. Two that I am concerned about are my fairly sizable Persian Shields (Strobilanthes Dyeriana) which are planted in the ground, and my hardy banana (Musa Basjoo) which is planted in a large container on wheels. I've taken cuttings from the Persian Shield, and am presently trying to figure out the process of rooting them in case the large plants don't make it. The banana is a mystery to me, though.

I also have a couple of Bronze New Zealand Flax (Phormium tenax atropurpureum) in fairly large ceramic pots on my deck, that concern me. How do you know whether a plant (or ceramic pot) is suitable for outdoor wintering?

There's lots of info on these plants, but little that seems to identify how they fare specifically in the PNW.

Beautiful, BC(Zone 8b)

shultman, yes, you are in 8b. I've seen z9a plants not far from you. You will probably be best to lift the Persian shields as they are not reliably hardy to the best of my knowledge. The Musa basjoo should be wrapped in a few weeks after the first frost (around Halloween). Here is a little write-up on winter protecting your banana on my friends nursery site: http://www.tropic.ca/K-L-M-N/Musa%20Basjoo%20Winter%20Protection.htt