Reusing Soil

Philadelphia, PA(Zone 6b)

This may seem like a silly question, but can I reuse soil from one year to the next? I'm a newbie LOL- but I do container gardening (I'm in an apartment) and I still have all the pots that my early annuals were potted in at the beginning of the summer. Although they've been gone for a long time, like the Bachelor Buttons, can the soil be kept for next spring or should I just get rid of it? Thanks all!
Samantha

Madison, WI

I had a large container last year and after the plantings were gone, I mixed in a good portion of compost material and added some worms. We had long mild fall and late spring. Come planting season, that container performed best. I wonder if it was just luck of matching the plants or composting in the soil is faster.

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

A slightly different perspective and why I hold it:
If the decision to reuse container soils is an economic one, who can disagree with the decision? If you aren't concerned about expense and are willing to go to some minimal extra effort to build a good soil, that is what I would elect to do.

Here's why: Container gardeners need to direct primary focus to insuring that the soil they are using will remain able to provide adequate air to roots for the expected life of the planting. Along with the ability of the soil to hold ample air, comes good gas exchange and drainage for rootage. All the other major cultural variables affecting growth are easily manipulated. Water, nutrients, sunlight, and to some degree, temperature can all be controlled easily. Aeration cannot and its consideration is as important as water and light to plant vitality.