White Ash Bonsai

Philadelphia, PA(Zone 6b)

Hey all- I am kind of new to this, but this spring I got a White Ash seedling from my Dad's house in Ohio- brought it to Philadelphia, and it is doing great on my roof deck. It is now about 9 inches tall, and has a trunk that is developing very well-
about 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch. Leaves are coming in great, from all directions so it looks nice and bushy. What I am wondering is 1) do I need to bring this inside for the winter, or leave it out- 2) should I repot it now or in the spring 3) should I prune now or in the spring? And 4) do I continue to fertilize through the winter or no? Thanks in advance for any information.
Samantha in South Philly

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

Leave it out. Bury the container or otherwise protect roots from temperatures below 20* F. (unheated garage is a good second choice, but your plant will leaf out too early if you chose this option) and from dessication. The plant needs a cold rest (dormancy).

Repot in spring - immediately before buds move, or at onset of budswell.

Prune after leaf abscission & before budswell.

No need to fertilize dormant plants & excess N in the soil of dormant plants could encourage rot issues.

Al

Pittsfield,, MA(Zone 5b)

I put my hardy Bonsai in the cellarway which is cold and dark from mid Dec till April. Theyu're out now even with the cold weather we're having because it's no colder than the hatch was getting and they all seemed to have survived. Waiting for them to leaf out....

I need to prune it soon- over the winter on extremely cold nights I put it in my enclosed porch (unheated but never goes below freezing according to my thermometer). For a long time now it has been out though, as we haven't had real cold weather. The other day I went out on the deck, and noticed it's pot had split, and where a shard fell off you can see all the root structure, and it is bound! But the roots seem nice and healthy.