Newbie Needs Help!

Ingleside, TX(Zone 9a)

Ok..now PLEASE dont laugh! I HONESTLY do NOT know anything about this. I am new to gardening.(6-8 months new) I do mainly containers. My question is..I have a Sacred Datura. The pod has dried and cracked open. There are little seeds on top of the soil. I read to "direct sow in the fall". What EXACTLY does that mean? Do I put the seeds in soil? Do I need to water them? How long before I have plants?
Yall, I am really not a totally uneducated woman, but this is a new subject for me. This will be my FIRST try at getting a new plant from ANY of my plants that I have...sooo..can ya help a gal out???

SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

Go here and post your question.

http://davesgarden.com/forums/t/493397/

Lisbon, Portugal(Zone 10a)

LOL babe! I can totally relate......I've been gardening in containers for a while, but never tried seeds... this year, after finding DG, I'll try petunias. I collected the seeds myself, wow! ;-)

I don't have any experience, but I think direct sow means you can put the seeds outside, where the plant will live, not needing any pprevious period of sowing indoors and keeping the young plants inside in seedind trays before you can plant them...

So I'd say you can put the seed on the ground you want the plant to grow in, and then spread a layer of soil over them, and water regularly, but without really soaking the ground.

But I'm sure someone wiser than me will help you out! Good luck!

Fernanda

See? I told you!

:-0

SE Houston (Hobby), TX(Zone 9a)

Look up direct sow in the garden terms file.

Ingleside, TX(Zone 9a)

Thanks My Hiraeth. YOU were very kind..I sometimes think some on here forget they were once new at this..At any rate..I will figure it out. I know there are definitions and all but often first hand experience is the best teacher!

You'll be ok, turbosbabe, I'm sure! I'll let you know how my petunias turned out (if they turn out at all LOL!)

Philadelphia, PA