I've got troubles........

Bureau County, IL(Zone 5a)

Last week while weeding, I noticed I had some white flies flying out of some of the weeds I was pulling. Fri, we did more yard work and they were everywhere. I had some plants for my parents place, so last Sat we took them out to plant them. We get there, my dad is looking at the plants and tells me I've brought him white flies. He wasn't happy and says if I want to get rid of them, I need to spray something like Malathion. I haven't used pesticides in years. How do I rid my plants of these? Will the cold kill them all off? I've never had white flies before, so I have no experience here at all.

Any help is much appreciated.

Terry

Is your Dad reading this? Tell him hi and no no to spraying just yet!

http://www.treehelp.com/shopping/product-detail.asp?Product_ID=2496
http://www.biconet.com/traps/whitefly.html

There should be some good pheromone traps out there too. I wouldn't go for a pesticide this time.

Can I use them now or wait till next spring? What's a pheromone trap? Where do I find something like that? On the internet, or will the Ace store carry something like that. I didn't have them last year or even earlier this year, what's up? Something I bought or was given perhaps? Prolly those warty things somebody gave me, huh. :o)

Should I tell him to do a search for white flies when I see him next?? Jeepers, I didn't even think about that. HI DAD!! EQUIL SAYS HI!! LOVE YOU!! now I'm gonna go hide..........

Ha ha ha! Very funny. If that were true, I'd be inundated. Remind me to not accept any gifts from you because I don't have any whiteflies here and I don't want any. A friend had them in their greenhouse though. Sap suckers! Many those things can do damage in a greenhouse. I'm pretty sure they used Orthene which isn't an option for you.

This describes what pheromones are and what pheromone traps do quite nicely.
http://pmo.umext.maine.edu/swetcorn/pheromon.htm