Dividing heucheras

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi,
I'm new to growing heucheras. I've been very pleased with my Dolce Peach Melbas, and I'd like to get a few more. I'm not pleased with the prices, though. :) Can heucheras be divided, and if so is it best in spring or fall? I noticed this "baby" crown, and it seems like that could be divided off, but I'm not sure.

Any advice is welcome. Thanks,
w

Thumbnail by winging
Gravois Mills, MO(Zone 6a)

They are real easy to devide. that little crown come up off a stem that is about on top of the ground. You can cut that stem devide it at that stem and put it in a pot and it will grow.

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

That sounds pretty easy. Thanks!

w

Central, WI(Zone 4a)

Yep, oz is right on as usual,,,lol I read that you should divide out your Heuchera's about every 3 to 4 years. I have found that I need to as they get pretty woody or they get really sparse in the middle.

Kely

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

Thanks folks. These plants were overwintered last winter in their pots. I planted them in late spring. Would it be too soon to cut off that "baby"? And should I do it this fall or in the spring?

Thanks again,

w

Northern, NJ(Zone 6b)

winging,
All the information I've read recommends planting Heucheras in the spring because there is a good chance of heaving over the winter. I would hold off until the spring to divide the plant if possible.

Cincinnati, OH(Zone 6a)

That makes sense. Thanks!

w

Southern Maryland, United States

I don't know if it varies per zone, but if I divide mine in the spring, they wilt to mush.
I just finished dividing a 'Hollywood' into 10 different babies. I just bought this little one in the spring, but evidently it's pretty happy.
Usually, within moments of lifting them, they start to wilt for me. Today, with the cooler temperature, getting them immediately back into dirt and watering them? No wilt.