Four Season Gardening

Chepachet, RI(Zone 5b)

As I was perusing the "September Clean-up" thread I began to wonder if anyone here ever tried four season gardening? I'm new to gardening, but I've absolutely devoured Eliot Coleman's book "Four Season Harvest." In his book he talks about how he is able to harvest from his garden basically year round even though he lives in Maine. I won't be able to apply any of his winter harvesting this winter, but this fall I'll be using all his soil amendment recommendations for an epanded garden bed and I hope to start some cold-weather crops for winter harvest in some cold frames next fall.

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

You made me curious but I know nothing about it.

Chepachet, RI(Zone 5b)

Dave--if you are at all interested you can probably pick up "Four Season Harvest" at your local library--I took out a copy at my local library, renewed it twice and eventually picked up my own copy. In the book Mr. Coleman reviews basic organic gardening practice and then procedes to discuss how it is that he is able to harvest quite a large variety of cold-tolerant crops in the middle of winter using very minimal protection for those crops. Most of the protection methods he uses are row covers, cold frames and tunnels and/or greenhouses, none of which are heated in any way. The book is fascinating and I highly recommend it, and to be honest with you I'm surprised there isn't more discussion of his methods here at this site.

Eliot Coleman and his wife (gardening author Barbara Damrosch) do have a website if you're interested and you can learn a little bit about their gardening philosophy at http://www.fourseasonfarm.com/index.html

If it's at all possible to be a "gardening groupie" I am SO one of theirs!

Southern, CT(Zone 6a)

Thank you Niere! I will check it out. Last year I did my firt wintersowing so I've developed a taste for not taking 4 or 5 months off each year.

Fairfield County, CT(Zone 6b)