Tomato plants for this fall & winter

Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

Here is a snapshot of some tomato plants I started in June and built self watering containers out of 5 gal pails. I have them in greenhouse now and hope to have fresh tomatoes this fall and winter.

Thumbnail by bensen
Deep East Texas, TX(Zone 8a)

Please explain your self watering containers. I've plenty of 5 gal pails and plants in need of watering assistance...

Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

podster, give me a few minuits to put together some snapshots fo how I built them.

Great ~ thanks...

Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

I'll have to do one at a time. I'm still new at working with my ditital camera and picture files.

First I cut down a 5 gal. pail to the last top rib. You could leave it full length but I wanted to save a little on the amount of soil I used.

Thumbnail by bensen
Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

I picked up a 10' length of 1 1/4" and a 10' lengh of 1" PVC pipe plus two 1 1/4" couplings. Next I drilled 3 equally spaced holes for the 1 1/4 pipe using a 1 5/8" hole saw and a single hole for the 1" pipe using a 1 3/8 hole saw.

Thumbnail by bensen
Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

The next step is to drill a bunch of small holes in botton of pail for air circlation. I drilled 1/4" holes but think small ones would work better (maybe 3/16") This pail is one of the first ones I did (I added the hole for the 1" PVC after the small holes were drilled.

Thumbnail by bensen
Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)

Next I made the wicking tubes for the potting mix. These tubes extend into the water reservoir just below the bottom of the upper pail with the small holes. I measured from the bottom of the standard pail to the bottom of the pail that has the drilled holes in it then added 1/4" to this measurement. I sliced one of the couplings into 4 pieces and glued them to the wicking tubes as retainers to help anchor the tubes to the upper pail. I will continue the thread tomorrow evening.

Thumbnail by bensen
Walpole, NH(Zone 5a)