Gaultheria procumbens

Peoria, IL

Anyone have any experience growing this as a ground cover?

Northern, NJ(Zone 6b)

I have plenty of experience killing it. Most often it dies immediately after planting. Sometimes, it likes to stick around and even flourishes for a season before it dies or diminishes to a wisp. In "Native Plants of the Northeast" by Donald J. Leopold, it states, Perhaps one of the most challenging native groundcovers to cultivate, along with bunchberry, but well worth the effort.

I have given up on this one (but secretly hope my one remaining clump will expand).

Mine are struggling over here. They're still clinging to life but barely and this is their third year in the ground. I keep waiting for them to do something but so far they haven't done much except limp along.

Collingswood, NJ(Zone 6b)

Semper, I've had the same experience here in South Jersey. I've planted it twice and it immediately died both times.

When we were kids, we'd find it in the woods, chew the leaves and do the "teaberry shuffle."

Colts Neck, NJ(Zone 7a)

I even managed to kill the plants I bought at the wildflower nursery (any of you in NJ remember Wild Earth?) The plants growing in the woods near my house look pretty scrawny too. They have never flowered or made berries that I have observed and every year they are harder to locate.

This message was edited Sep 6, 2006 11:54 AM

Northern, NJ(Zone 6b)

I remember Wild Earth, Sofi. I think I read somewhere that Rich? the owner has a new nursery. Anyone know where?

Fireweed, teaberry shuffle ? from the gum?

Colts Neck, NJ(Zone 7a)

I googled Rich and got a phone number and and email but no luck reaching him. I hope he is busy setting up a new nursery. I also found a listing for Rare Find Nursery in Jackson and from the map it looks like it's on the old Wild Earth site, or very close to it. Has anyone been there?

Northern, NJ(Zone 6b)