Back from the dead?

Orangeville, ON(Zone 4b)

Hello,
This is my first time in this forum and I have an odd situation with what I "think" could be a peony.
I have two raised stonework planters on either side of my front door that are about 10 ft long, 2 ft wide and 4 ft tall. They were installed about 5 yrs prior to me purchasing this home last year. In the corner of one of them, I noticed last year, the remnants of a plant that looked dead. I wanted to dig it out at the time but before I did, I asked the neighbour if she knew what it could have been. She said she thought it was a peony or rose that the previous owner had put in immediately after the planters were installed but said she never saw the plant again after that year. She chalked it up to the fact the lady would plant things and let them die due to neglect (they didn't get on very well,lol).

So I decided to plant asiatic lilies in the raised planter and dig out the dead thing at a later time. Obviously, it's still there or I wouldn't be here asking, what is the chances of this plant coming back to life after 5 yrs of being a no show?? Are peonies known to do this?
Please have a look at the photo and let me know if you think that the sprout shown at all resembles the start of a peony. If it is, can this plant be saved????

Here's to hoping and thanks in advance,
Erynne

P.S.....please excuse the mess; everything collects in this corner (and I'm too lazy to clean it!)

Thumbnail by Erynne
Northeast, NE(Zone 5a)

Remarkable!! It indeed is a peony.I don't know how common it is to see that happen after all this time.You should be able to move it out of the planter and transplant in your yard.This is the best time of year to transplant peonies.It should come back in the spring.Good Luck! Nancy

Orangeville, ON(Zone 4b)

Thank You Nancy! I have to read up more about peonies now that I unexpectedly have one.