loofah

Roopville, GA(Zone 7b)

i don't know where to place this as it is a type of squash but also a vine. this is my first year growing loofahs. i have a few small ones starting and am so excited! any of you grow these? i haven't posted on vegetable board before.

kelly

Thumbnail by lovesdaylilies
Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Actually it is a gourd Luffa cylindrica -http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/712/index.html Lots of comments here. Mostly grown to maturity and used for sponge like scrubbers, but are quite edible when young. Used to be popular in the south where it was known as vine okra.

Roopville, GA(Zone 7b)

i was given some of the 'sponges' last year and loved them! i got this plant from the same person this spring. i think it would of done better growing across something rather than up this light pole. just ran out of room.

kelly

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

lovesdaylillies...here is the link that Farmerdill gave above:
http://davesgarden.com/pf/go/712/index.html

And yep, they are fun to grow, eh? Love 'em! By the way, when yours become nice and dry you should save the seeds out of it (they'll be thousands!) so you have an on-going supply of plants and sponges for next year!

Shoe.

Roopville, GA(Zone 7b)

i cant wait for seeds. they will be good to share as well! thanks for the link.

kelly

Los Alamos, NM(Zone 5a)

lovesdaylilies,
They eat young loofas in Thailand and they are absolutely delicious. So if you look you will have enough sponges, try cooking up some about the same size you like your zucchini. Cook 'em like okra or zucchini. Yummy!

Roopville, GA(Zone 7b)

sounds good. i wish i had planted more than one plant. next year i hope to plant many many more.

kelly

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

My loofah vines still haven't set blooms. I guess-timate we have 6-8 weeks before frost. If I nip the vines will that force them to stop growing and set blooms? Or is it too late to hope for sponges this year?

Audubon, PA(Zone 6b)