"False Sunflower" ??

Thunder Bay Ontario, ON(Zone 3a)

Hi :-)

Four years ago I purchased what was ticketed as a "Perennial Sunflower". The first year it grew to about 5ft of beautiful foliage .. not a flower to be seen .. I thought perhaps one was forming at the top of one of the stems .. but .. a September frost fell .. and "POOF" all was lost.
The second year .. almost the same scenario unfolded, despite the fact I actually SPOKE to the plant everyday :-(
Year three arrived .. and .. as expected the gangly plant started it's trek towards the sky .. I fertilized it and, yes I talked to it, and in early Sept. it BLOOMED !! Not for long, but it did produce a (ONE) yellow flower.
I am now in year FOUR .. and the darned thing is MONSTROUS .. it's close to eight feet high .. green and bushy (one might think it was a POT plant) .. but .. again .. NO FLOWERS ..
A friend who is a landscaper by profession has told me it's a False Sunflower? I have Googled the Image of a False Sunflower and have not really been too successful .. either the pic won't enlarge or has been taken too far back from the plant .. but NONE of the pics portray the flowerless MAMMOTH I am growing !!!
Has anyone ever run into this plant .. and if you have were you successful in making it bloom? I have fertilized it .. twice this summer,with the new Miracle Grow stuff (liquid) that hitches up to yer hose.
I am in a northern clime in Canada .. I think I am referred to as Zone 3a.

Thanx a bunch for any clues to the flowering process and/or identification of this plant.

Marilynne :-)

Appleton, WI(Zone 5a)

I have seen some heliopsis 5 or 6 feet tall - I can't really guess what variety you have, should be in here
http://davesgarden.com/pf/search.php?search_text=heliopsis&images_prefs=both&Search=Search

I would cut out the fertilizing for next year to see if that helps, they really don't need it and it will make them taller with less flowers. It is in full sun right?

Al