Canna worms, or leaf rollers

Raleigh, NC(Zone 7b)

This is my first year with cannas in the landscape and I was really unprepared for the Japanese beetles and the canna worms....they hit all the cannas...

What do you all use when your cannas come up in the spring to avoid these pests?
Thanks

Knoxville, TN

I can't beleive I missed this forum!

Tigerlily, I had such a problem with leaf rollers on my canna last year that I was on the verge of digging all of them and giving up. At a suggestion, I sprayed and dusted with BT after unrolling leaves and removing the worms. (Ugly little critters) Ultimately, I lost the battle.

I decided to give them one more try this year before I sacraficed them to the compost pile. I used Bayer Rose product that has a fertilizer and insecticide and is in a granular form. I scratched in the recommended amount and re-applied it every 6 weeks. I have seen very few leaf roller this year and when I do find them, I cut the entire stalk to the ground and destroy all of it. In spring, I also removed any debri around the cannas and put down a fresh layer of newspaper and mulch.

Bessemer City, NC(Zone 7b)

I wish there were more on this pest at DG. I searched in various ways in the Bugfiles, and I get nothing.

I even did a suggested "generalized search" with both leaf roller (and leafroller) and canna and get nothing. (Did get the Oak leafroller, though.......)

It would be great to identify the adult so that it could alert one to beware of a possible infestation.

Guess I'll go Google awhile.

http://creatures.ifas.ufl.edu/orn/brazilian_skipper.htm

http://creatures.ifas.ufl.edu/orn/L_canna_leaf_roller.htm

There.

This message was edited Sep 27, 2006 9:17 PM

KC Metro area, MO(Zone 6a)

lol. You must either really frustrated or really bored.

LOL, pepper23.

Maybe I *am* just a bit moody today...........

Robert.

Lakeland, FL(Zone 9b)

i think its a type of ugly moth that lays the eggs of the leaf roller