Cutting Ethics?

Wichita, KS(Zone 6a)

Newbie here so please forgive my ignorance. I have a question regarding ethics and cutting? This year I want to try doing some cuttings. In the past I have just thrown away all the plants that were not hardy. Joined DG and am inspired to try. Here are my questions?

1) Is it okay to ask the SIL to raid her yard for cuttings? She'll just let them die.

2) Is it okay to take cutting from our local public areas or parks. I'm not greedy I just want a few. and I would never destroy anything.

3) Is it okay to ask a business for some cutting? There is an office building downtown with some large pots out front. Again, I'm not greedy, and would never destroy anything.

Dublin, CA(Zone 9a)

I think any of the 3 would be fine if you get permission first from the owner or whoever's responsible for the property/plants, but I wouldn't take cuttings from any of those locations without permission.

San Diego, CA

As far as ethics, it also depends on if the plant is patented. A lot of them state that propagation is prohibited. Being that I'm one of those pure and wholesome people, I just toss that particular label and swear I never saw it. Into the rooting hormone it goes and well, you know the rest.

Hughesville, MO(Zone 5a)

Chunx, I think that really means that you can't make a bunch to sell. But I understand the concept and have done it many times myself. I do volunteer work at a botanical gardens and got thru the pictched stuff in the compost pile that has been pitched the past few days as well as getting the 'trash' for the day I am there from the greenhouses. There are nearly always cutting, some already rooted, in there somewhere and even some nice size plants. Much of our yard has been aquired that way and I have shared with others many times.