First Time Corn/Potatoe grower

Brimfield, MA(Zone 5a)

I'm in Zone 5 and want to try corn and potatoes for 07. I have heard Kandy Korn is easy in my zone. What have you zone 5'ers succesfully grown for corn and potatoes? I don't have a lot of room for the potatoes so they will be grown in a new EB, but my crop rotation leaves a lot of room for corn in the big bed in 07. I'm new with potatoes and corn and a little nervous too, so I'd be happy to hear about your successes and recomendations. Especially FarmerDill please.

Warren, PA(Zone 5a)

I'd be interested in hearing more about this also. We've not grown corn (too much space for our little garden) but have had very nice luck with Red Norland and Superior potatoes here in Zone 5a.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

If you like yellow corn, Kandy Korn is about as good as any. Relatively easy to grow. Just remember to plant it in blocks not in a single row. It is a heavy feeder and needs space to produce good ears. I would plant it groups 12 -18 inches between stalks, depending on the fertility of the soil. If you like white corn, Silver King. There are quite a few bi-colors that are good. If you are limited for space, The early cultivars with small stalks and ears may be in order. I like Sunglow for Yellow and Silver Princess for white. Quickie for bi-color. In your area, you should be able to grow any type of Irish potato. Just plant the type you like to eat. Mine are Pontiacs and Irish Cobblers, but in a hot climate I can only grow fast maturing cultivars, You are not limited.

Jim Falls, WI(Zone 4a)

Farmerdill I grew a small plot of Quickie and wasn't real happy with it. Not as sweet as i thought it would be and kind of starchy. I tried 3 other kinds and that is the only one that got some corn smut.

One other I tried was Pearls'n gold. I was very pleased with that. Was sweet and the silk came off really nice.It's also a bi-color.
Another was Kandy King Which was okay. Nice ears and good flavor. A yellow corn