Some questions about my first Hydrangea

Richmond, VA(Zone 7a)

Hello All, I've been doing veggie gardening for a few years, but I am very new to the flowering stuff. Oddly enough, I decided to buy a little shoebox house from a lady... who had gardened & planted there for 45 years. :)

One of her favorite plants, and one of the more colorful, is the old hydrangea out front. I think it is in need of a pruning, but in reading around, I may have missed this summers window. Any thoughts?

When I do, do I have to prune to the ground always, or can some stems be trimmed off?

Any other advice, would be welcome, I'm attaching a couple of pictures to assist my horrid description.

Chris

Thumbnail by VirginiaPesto
Richmond, VA(Zone 7a)

Closer Pic.

Thumbnail by VirginiaPesto
Lake Toxaway, NC(Zone 7a)

hmmm it's hard to tell what kind you have but I'd say trim out the branches, to the ground, of the ones that are blooming this year. If you trim out the new growth, you will have no blooms next year.

Grand Rapids, MI(Zone 5b)

Virginia Pesto-

That looks like an Annabelle to me. I have 3 that are doing quite well (Zone 5b, West Michigan) and I have yet to cut them back since we bought this house (2 years). I plan to cut back this year, ever so carefully. Any advice on how to do it, when, precautions,etc, would be greatly appreciated. I would hate to see these guys not do well next spring. The flowers were pure white a few weeks ago and now they are going back to the lime green color they started out at. The attached photo is a pic of a gound layering I did several weeks ago. I "buried" a limb under the large rock and the lighter colored leaves are the new growth. It appears to have taken. I've tried root cuttings with no success.

Thumbnail by MichelleVQuinn

Virginia Pest-